Home » Support for Groups » Training Courses

Training Programme icon 2021-2022

We have a regular programme of training to support groups and organisations in their day-to-day running, as well as offering bespoke tailored training.

Our trainers include NCVS staff and external trainers. Our courses build on the latest policy issues that affect the voluntary, community and social enterprise sector, including new legislation briefings, and will enable you to keep up-to-date with staff, trustee and volunteer development.

We regularly review our training programme to ensure that it is useful and relevant to the groups we support. If you have training needs that aren’t met by our current programme, please email us.

Due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) situation, all sessions currently take place online via Zoom.

Select a training course within the categories below:

Skills for running an organisation

Being a Trustee: what does it mean?

This two-hour online session covers the basic information for all trustees, whether you are new to the role or long-established.
Cost: £20 per participant

Thursday 13 May 2021, 10:00am
- 12:00pm
Wednesday 11 August 2021, 10:30am
- 12:30pm
Tuesday 2 November 2021, 6:00pm
- 8:00pm
Thursday 10 February 2022, 11:00am
- 1:00pm

How to Take Minutes

Are you acting as secretary or note taker, or do you need to record meetings? Learn how to take effective minutes and make your task easier. This two-hour online session replaces our previous face-to-face three-hour course and will take you through the process of producing a 'minute'.
Cost: £20 per participant

Tuesday 15 June 2021, 10:30am
- 12:30pm
Thursday 4 November 2021, 11:00am
- 1:00pm

Introduction to Health & Safety and Risk Assessments

This new two-hour online session will explain the basics of health and safety, then take you through the process of carrying out a risk assessment in an organisational environment.
Cost: £20 per participant

Tuesday 27 July 2021, 10:30am
- 12:30pm
Wednesday 23 March 2022, 10:00am
- 12:00pm

Introduction to the role of Board or Committee Secretary

The Board or Committee Secretary is one of the principal roles in a charity or community organisation, yet there are few courses on the subject. In this one-hour online session you will learn why it is so important and that it is definitely not just about taking minutes.
Cost: £10 per participant

Tuesday 22 June 2021, 6:00pm
- 7:00pm
Thursday 10 March 2022, 11:00am
- 12:00pm

Is Your Insurance Appropriate?

A free online workshop on the subject of risk and insurance for community organisations. Led by Tim Larden from Ladbrook Insurance, a specialist insurance broker for the third sector.

Thursday 20 May 2021, 10:30am
- 12:30pm

Top Tips for Writing Funding Applications

For organisations and community groups who are new to applying for funding, or for those in need of a refresher. Relevant for groups applying for COVID-19 funding and recovery support as well as other general funding.
Cost: £10 per participant

Tuesday 20 April 2021, 10:00am
- 11:15am
Wednesday 23 June 2021, 1:00pm
- 2:15pm

Trustee Refresher Course

This two-hour online session is intended for trustees who have completed our 'Being a Trustee' course and want to further develop their involvement and awareness of trustee duties.
Cost: £20 per participant

Wednesday 21 July 2021, 5:30pm
- 7:30pm
Tuesday 22 February 2022, 1:00pm
- 3:00pm

Safeguarding


All safeguarding training delivered by our NCVS Safeguarding Lead, Celina Adams, is endorsed either by the Nottingham City Safeguarding Children Board or by the Nottingham City Safeguarding Adult Board. You will receive a certificate of participation once you have completed the training.

If you wish to discuss possible bespoke training, please email ncvs@nottinghamcvs.co.uk.

Introduction to Safeguarding Adults

An online course giving a basic understanding of roles and responsibilities in the safeguarding of adults and how to respond to concerns.
Cost: £25 per participant

Tuesday 6 July 2021, 10:30am
- 1:45pm
Wednesday 13 October 2021, 10:30am
- 1:45pm
Thursday 6 January 2022, 10:30am
- 1:45pm

Introduction to Safeguarding Children and Young People

An online course giving a basic understanding of roles and responsibilities in the safeguarding of children and young people and how to respond to concerns.
Cost: £25 per participant

Wednesday 21 April 2021, 10:30am
- 1:45pm
Wednesday 21 July 2021, 10:30am
- 1:45pm
Thursday 7 October 2021, 10:30am
- 1:45pm
Wednesday 19 January 2022, 10:30am
- 1:45pm

Mental Health Aware

Delivered by a registered Mental Health First Aid England (MHFA) Instructor, this introductory course will raise awareness of mental health issues and gives initial guidance on how to support people who may be experiencing mental ill health.
Full cost: £40 per participant (£25 course fee plus £15 resource pack)

Monday 17 May 2021, 11:00am
- 3:30pm
Monday 19 July 2021, 11:00am
- 3:30pm
Tuesday 19 October 2021, 10:30am
- 3:00pm

Safeguarding Children Designated Lead Person

An online course giving a basic understanding of the roles and responsibilities of the Designated Safeguarding Lead Person.
Cost: £25 per participant

Tuesday 11 May 2021, 10:30am
- 1:45pm
Tuesday 3 August 2021, 10:30am
- 1:45pm
Thursday 18 November 2021, 10:30am
- 1:45pm
Thursday 24 February 2022, 10:30am
- 1:45pm

Trustees' Safeguarding Responsibilities

An interactive online session for Trustees (or members of Management Committees) of organisations whose activities put them in contact with vulnerable adults or children.
Cost: £15 per participant

Wednesday 5 May 2021, 10:00am
- 11:15am
Tuesday 24 August 2021, 10:30am
- 11:45am
Tuesday 9 November 2021, 10:30am
- 11:45am
Thursday 3 February 2022, 10:30am
- 11:45am

Skills for leaders of volunteers


Look out for a brand new course coming soon, exploring volunteer impact assessment.

Addressing the Barriers to Volunteering

In this one-hour online session, we will identify some of the barriers that potential volunteers face to becoming involved in your organisation and share ideas to remove these barriers.
Cost: £10 per participant

Wednesday 28 April 2021, 10:00am
- 11:00am
Wednesday 28 July 2021, 10:00am
- 11:00am
Wednesday 27 October 2021, 10:00am
- 11:00am
Wednesday 26 January 2022, 10:00am
- 11:00am

Dealing with Conflict in your Volunteer Programme

This one-hour online session aims to share some ideas about how best to deal with the inevitable disagreements, personality clashes and conflicts that arise from time to time among a team of volunteers.
Cost: £10 per participant

Tuesday 8 June 2021, 2:00pm
- 3:00pm
Wednesday 8 September 2021, 10:00am
- 11:00am
Wednesday 1 December 2021, 10:00am
- 11:00am
Wednesday 2 March 2022, 10:00am
- 11:00am

Essentials of Volunteer Management

This one-hour online session looks at methods that have proved to be effective in volunteer leadership, including the best ways to plan, involve, support and retain volunteers.
Cost: £10 per participant

Wednesday 7 July 2021, 10:00am
- 11:00am
Wednesday 6 October 2021, 10:00am
- 11:00am
Wednesday 12 January 2022, 10:00am
- 11:00am

Introduction to Volunteers and the Law

A two-hour online course for Leaders of Volunteers to start to develop an understanding of some of the legal requirements that relate to your volunteering programme.
Cost: £20 per participant

Thursday 6 May 2021, 10:00am
- 12:15pm
Wednesday 18 August 2021, 10:00am
- 12:15pm
Wednesday 10 November 2021, 10:00am
- 12:15pm
Wednesday 9 February 2022, 10:00am
- 12:15pm

Writing Opportunities to attract Volunteers

A one-hour online session to help your volunteer role descriptions stand out, ensuring you attract enthusiastic volunteers.
Cost: £10 per participant

Wednesday 23 June 2021, 10:00am
- 11:00am
Wednesday 22 September 2021, 10:00am
- 11:00am
Tuesday 7 December 2021, 2:00pm
- 3:00pm
Tuesday 22 March 2022, 2:00pm
- 3:00pm

Support for social entrepreneurs

Setting up a Social Enterprise

What is the right structure for your organisation? This new two-hour online session will explain your options and provide you with some useful tips to help you through the process of registration and beyond.
Cost: £20 per participant

Wednesday 9 June 2021, 10:30am
- 12:30pm
Wednesday 8 December 2021, 10:00am
- 12:00pm

Other training options

There are always options for skills development outside of formal training sessions. Take a look at the full range of Events and Training offered by NCVS. This includes networking events, and learning opportunities provided by the Practice Development Unit.